About Us

Past & Present

Sinton’s at the Bridge is built on the site of the Sinton family home. It was acquired by James Sinton in 1919 because of its strategic position beside the railway station which facilitated the transport of horses all over Ireland. This passion of buying & selling horses from the yard was continued by his son Willie John (Julianne’s Grandfather) until his death in 1989. The yard was a popular meeting place for the community to discuss their  common interest in horses and local affairs.

Horses that left this yard led a variety of interesting lives, some joined the army, some pulled trams in Isle of Man, another performed as the Queens Drum Horse, and Pennwood Forge Mill was an International Show jumper.

Graeme & Julianne have redeveloped this family site into a destination restaurant to provide a unique contemporary venue to once again bring people from all walks of life together to share their journey with them.